have i loved you forever?

have i loved you forever
that the spark of soul in my being
must be drawn from your smile
and the shine in my eyes
must draw light from your every breath?

have i loved you forever
that every stroke and curve
of your lips
inhabits my thoughts in slumber,
and in wakefulness
the very timbre of your voice
nourishes my spirit?

have i loved you forever
that i walk this path to follow you
though my ragged feet bleed
on pebbles and rocks along the way?

have i loved you forever
that my faith in your love
never wanes even though
the ubiquity of your caress
is like a drop of sunshine
on a rainy day?

i must have loved you
before i even knew myself
for in your love, my life began
i must have loved you forever
if forever is now
if forever never ends.

written by vicky, feb 2012

