Cooking up :)

During the past few days, I have turned to creative cooking which, I happily discovered, has helped reduce my stress, and eased my emotional pains… and cheered me up somewhat. I call it creative because, all five dishes I prepared over the weekend, were either cooked in a different way than I used to do, or I cooked it from “taste” memory – which meant I improvised based on how I remember the dish actually tasted. And, I had guests invited to savor them.

So what were those dishes? Saturday: Beef with Mushroom in Cream Sauce; Stir Fried Vegetables with Fried Tofu; Ginger-Eggplant Saute with Chilli Sauce. Sunday: Beef Strips with Barbecue Sauce and a Siding of Fries; Pan Fried Salmon Steak with Lemon Butter Sauce. Yum yum yum 🙂 so my guests said….

Just turned one week in Jakarta, and here I am surviving, trying to be strong in a jungle of heartsick emotions through the delicious aromas and the dance of pots and pans in my kitchen on the 24th floor.

