Dances with Stars

Dances with Stars

Once upon the sky
Ablaze with stars it gazed upon
My loveliness my smile
And once upon the stars I slept
and dreamed and played and danced
Yet, reality took its royal chair,
I fell…
and down upon the dust
of dirt and mire and muck
I wept I swam I lived.
Like green the grass when dew does shine
God lifts up my soul and I…
I learn to breathe earth’s saving air
and live upon it,
I see the lilies and the bumblebees,
the footsteps on the muddy ground.
I live and raise my eyes up and see the trees
its upper arms embracing the silver ….
I am ….
gazing on stars once more…
not to go its distance and dwell there
not to climb the highest peak and reach out to its glitter
but to sit admiringly in the distance,
remembering the dances I once danced with its shine…
but stars are not meant to hold one such as me
I am my destiny fulfilled, as
I set my foot and roots safely on the earth
that loved me and graced me…
with the beauty and the fragrance
of the flowers in my midst.

written by vicky, 2003

